I Thought I Was God

How do November
skylines wrap around
calendar days?
And when?

Why does November
give skylines overcasting
chills to the world?

Who is November –
to lock my summer
love away in Siberia’s
prison?

Who colored my
face red and cast my
breathe white?

What is November,
controlling me?
I thought I was god.

Does November ever
expire? Does it appear in
deja-vus when the
world around me
freezes in winter depths?

Have you heard cries
from oaks and maples
so presently naked
against the backdrop
of overcast skylines;
Is November playing
cruelties, scattering
that which it kills
wherever it pleases?

Still think we are gods?
Does not November
have the last laugh?

Who can say otherwise?

Leave a Reply

