Chapter 10

Again, some favorite lyrics from new music this year.

I thought I’d learned to behave but I don’t think I’m acting my age.

You are my own sinking ship.

I’m gonna live, I’m alright. I’m gonna die, it’s alright. I’m okay.

Even salvation can cost you everything when all your temptations just leave you settling.

Should we go down to church on every Wednesday and Sunday morning to be on God’s side? I’ve been thinking about living my way.

Follow me back like a ride on a train. Make it hard to remember the cold. Take care of your money and stay out of the rain, your bones can give out when you’re old. I get more of a feeling from words that have truth. A feeling like something is wrong. Let the door slide open, let the sunlight in. Call my name girl, sorrow. All of the times that I heard you sing out I’d hope there were parts there for me. I’d sing all the notes that stay out of your way. We can let all those melodies free. I think I was meant for an uglier time. My harmony’s all out of tune. Let the verse slide over, let the chorus in. Call my name girl, sorrow. We’ll be out of the dark when the seasons pass but you have to live now or you won’t. Put your gloves on your hands, wear your winter skin, ’cause it’s over before you say August. All your friends will await your return with their car doors open and their radio on. Call my name girl, sorrow.

I hit a bump in the road. It’s shaken thoughts in my soul. I’ll keep my guilty hands clean from now on.

I’m wrong, you’re wrong. Now I’m right for getting out before the fight.

Worst Album: Angels & Airwaves’ Love.
Most Disappointing Album: Mae’s Evening.
Best Techno Single: Joy Island’s Love Shocked.
Best Punk Single: Rufio’s All That Lasts.
Best Alternative Single: Sleeperstar’s We Go Tonight.
Best Cover: Menya’s Can’t Hurry Love.

Leave a Reply

