I Have Bled Too Much For This

I think I have bled too much for this –
Your indignation, your war.

You are like the high tide of a storm.
Crashing against a castle on a cliff.
A fortress centuries ago deemed
As nothing other than folly.

I think I should now fervently pray that you
Would take notice of the peasants in the surrounding
Fields and become more like them; their
Humility might not be of their own choosing
And their days are toilsome for meager means, but
They think great thoughts to themselves and then drift off to sleep.

Leave a Reply

