Candles

Echoed on the wall
By shadows of its light
Yellowish-white
Dances a flame atop a candle.

Heat builds with
Passionate burning,
I draw back my hand
And look out the living
Room window to
Another place,
A past year…

     Candles burned hotter
     And I was more carefree.
     But responsibility,
     Unreturned feelings,
     The latter, they have
     Caught up with me…

The flame, its glow,
Awakens me from
Staring out the window.

I wonder.

So I begin to barter
With the flame
Your expiring burning for
Unreturned sentiments
In exchange.

Originally written
3 April 2003

Leave a Reply

