Similarities In The Differences

Five…six…seven…

…eight, I think
I counted eight
Candadian geese
Flying so high in
The autumn
Sky of the mid-
Summer’s day
And I think 
Said to you

Two or three or
Four times how I
Would rather
Just lie on the
Hillside above
The town below
And I think you said

Thrice…no twice…
No, just once
That the needs
Of this day would
Not allow us to
Wait and so you
Got up and left,
Even knowing
How I would
Delay to watch the
Geese eventually
Disappear into
The reddening sunset.

Originally written
7 March 2005

Leave a Reply

